bad food

I was talking to my mom today about yummy new recipes, and she told me that she’s cut out canned soups in her cooking because they have too much sodium. It got me thinking about the fact that I don’t really have any recipes to share with her because all of mine either have lots of sodium, or came from her! đŸ˜¦

So I think I need to try (once again) to make a conscious change in the way I cook and eat. I did go pescatarian for a while, but I actually found that I ate more processed foods when I wasn’t eating meat, which I think is worse than eating meat in the first place.

So I’m thinking about phasing out our processed foods and getting more into whole foods, which have way fewer (bad) fat, calories, and sodium. I went back to the 100 Days of Real Food blog, and I feel like I can do it this time. Lisa has a defined set of rules that she follows, and I’ll try to stick with them, but I also need to phase this in, so mine will be a little different:

1. Meatless Mondays and Whole Food Wednesdays – I’m going to start slow, by implementing these two days to see how we fare. Baby steps.

2. No groceries with more than 10 ingredients – This will be tough, our pantry is always WAY more full than the fridge, and I’ve got to change that. To start, I’m just not going to get highly processed foods anymore, we’re going to phase them out as we go. Lisa’s rules call for no more than 5 ingredients, and I’ll get there, but I want to do this gradually.

3. No special stores – I’m not going back to shopping at Sprouts or Whole Foods. I’m a Navy Wife, and dammit, we shop at the Commissary! I’m not sure how well this will work, but I want to at least try to get everything from there.

So. Here we go again. Don’t blow it, self.

Leave a Reply

