holy crap, i’m engaged!

Whoa!

Even when you know it’s coming, it’s still a shock!

My own personal Romeo and I have been designing a ring based on a Mark Schneider design I saw about a year ago, and after three months of planning, it was finally cast and ready, but I wasn’t allowed to see it in real life until he decided to give it to me at the time and place of his choosing.

Well, he chose last week, Friday evening, on Sunset Cliffs, the place where we decided we were in our relationship for the long haul, where I realized that I would never want to be with anyone else.

It was freezing! my eyes were already watering from the cold, and he took my hands and told me that I’ve seen everything he has to offer, that he knows all he needs to know about me, and then he got down on one knee, and presented me with a box. A box containing a ring that I had helped design, that I knew exactly what it would look like, and it still floored me! I was so overwhelmed I had to cover my face with my hands for a moment, as I started crying, not from the wind, but from the tsunami of emotion that threatened to sweep me out to sea.

I had known pretty much all week that he was going to propose on Friday, I had been following an intense skin regimen to make sure my face was blemish-free and the bags under my eyes would be all but gone (for the record, it worked, I don’t know what in particular worked, but I used cucumbers, regular tea bags soaked in milk, and retinol cream, and my eyes looked crazy bright!) so that in the event there were pictures taken, I wouldn’t look like a zombie with bad skin. When we left on Friday, the poor guy forgot how to get to Sunset Cliffs (when we got on the 8 West though, I had a pretty good idea of where we were going once we passed Mission Valley, lol), and apparently so did I, because we took the longest route ever through Ocean Beach, and wound up at the Cliffs about ten minutes past sunset.

None of that mattered, however, as it was so cloudy, you could barely tell where the sky met the ocean! It was so gray and bleak, but when he got down on one knee, everything just kind of disappeared, I didn’t care that it was cold, that it was such dreary weather, and when he opened that box and I saw the ring, there was enough light sparkling off of it that I was afraid to touch it at first. Sometimes I’m still afraid to touch it, I’m constantly wiping it off to keep the center stone bright and unsmudged, and I can’t stop looking at it!

20121026-075204.jpg

I couldn’t be happier, yes, the ring is a beautiful piece of bling that I get distracted by when the light hits it; yes, I want to wave it around and show it to everyone, but what it stands for is the most beautiful thing of all, I feel so blessed that Dave picked me, I could not be happier right now. 🙂

… Well, maybe if this wedding would magically plan itself and be exactly what I envision, that might make me a little happier… 😉

Leave a Reply

