why the “chick-fil-a thing” is not about free speech…

So there’s an awful lot being said about Chick-Fil-A, and I’m so sick and tired of people on the Internet calling out censorship and that Dan Cathy should be able to say what he wants because “this is America, and we have free speech!”

This is not about free speech.

This is about Dan Cathy, the owner of Chick-Fil-A, using the profits he makes from his company to fund anti-gay groups [two of which are classified as “hate groups” (EqualityMatters, 2011)] which in turn use that money to fund things like “Gay Camp” (which is pretty much like “Fat Camp” except you “pray the gay away”) and lobbyists working to deny equal rights to gays.

That is the problem.

That is so totally wrong.

That is the reason that a lot of my Facebook friends hate me and have either unfriended me, or, at the least, constantly argue with me about it (and I’m totally guilty of arguing back because I was raised by a feminist who burned her bras in the 70’s and taught me that I have the right to have an opinion, but that I need to be informed before I formulate one).

Here’s my take: You absolutely have the right to believe whatever the hell it is you want to believe.  You have the right to start clubs and organizations and churches that are made of a community of shared values, and you can exclude whomever you choose.  That is your right.

But when you start taking those “club values” and start trying to push them into law, I get angry.

Not angry. Incensed.

You have absolutely no right to push your religious agenda into law.  Period.  I don’t care if Christianity is the largest religion in the West, the United States of America is not a theocracy, nor do we have a religion of State.

If Christians are going to cite Free Speech, allow me to cite the rest of the First Amendment:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

Yeah.  It goes both ways, guys.

I think this video by Jackson Pearce captures it nicely: “Hate, Love, and Chicken”

So that is my issue with Dan Cathy and his “agenda.”  I don’t care what his “Christian values” dictate is right and wrong, he has the freedom to follow his beliefs as he chooses, because they are protected by law.  Gay rights aren’t.  Just like women’s rights weren’t, or African-American rights, even all the way back to the Native Americans, and if you want to look outside our country, how about the Jews?  How about the Christians which were seen as a Jewish cult and were persecuted, beaten, crucified, and murdered?  Have we still not learned from all of this?? Un-freaking-believable!  Human beings are the only species with the capacity to learn from each other, the only species that actually records its history, and we refuse to get a clue!

You know what?  This isn’t even about Gay Rights.  This is about Human Rights, and I never thought, that in 2012, we would need a movement like this to set things right.

Also, check out the follow-up video to Jackson’s first one, I think I like it even better 🙂

Jackson Pearce “It’s Not About Chicken”

One thought on “why the “chick-fil-a thing” is not about free speech…

  1. Iris says:

    Trying to get some people to understand this very simple concept is like hitting your head against the wall over and over and over… I’ve tried my best to ‘enlighten’ a few but it’s beyond painful.

Leave a Reply

