rediscovering my artsy-fartsy side

So now that I’m comfortably out of the Navy and relatively adjusted to civilian life, I find myself thinking: are school and housework all there is?

20120410-213155.jpg

20120410-213213.jpg

And I say “no!”

I used to do all kinds of crafts, weaving, knitting, sewing, crocheting, drawing, painting, collages, woodwork, metalwork, gardening, you name it! And as the umpteen-millionth solicitor came knocking on our door, scaring my dogs out of their wits, in turn scaring me out of mine, I decided to look for a “No Soliciting” sign.

But they’re all so booooring!

I thought “is there a way to get an appealing sign to tell people to GTFO my property?” and I answered myself “well, I could always make one, I suppose…”

So now I’m faced with deciding how I want said sign to look. I want a kind of collag-y unkempt appearance (which will be a challenge for me, as I am so notoriously anal about symmetry) with lots of color variation. But what medium? Metal? Wood? I have a ton of wine corks and could easily amass a lot of soda can tabs, could I use them? Should I go to a junk yard or flea market and pick some stuff up? or should I order some nice precut letters in wood and paint them all funky-like? I really want to do a “junk piece,” I have no idea why, but for some reason, I’m really drawn to the idea of getting a hold of a bunch of broken appliances, like clocks and toasters and stuff and just going crazy with a pair of metal shears and some JB weld…

I’ll have to search around, for sure, but I really can’t wait to get started, it’s going to look so cool! And then I can maybe do some oil paintings, and stained glass, and woodworking…

Leave a Reply

