whatever you do, be successful

20120217-103323.jpg

I subscribe to Daily Challenge (https://challenge.meyouhealth.com) and recently had to come up with a personal mantra or motto. It didn’t really matter what it was, it could be something to describe oneself, or something to say or think when the going gets tough, or just something to have above the desk so that whenever I see it, it will have some effect on my mindset. The sky was the limit.

Unfortunately for me, having no limitations limits me because I can’t think, my brain just goes everywhere and I cannot focus. I am one of those people that thrive with structure; not too much structure, because that’s just boring for anyone, but enough so that I at least know what direction to go. I researched the concept, I read other peoples mantras/mottos/inspirational quotes, I read about the devas and tried to find one – perhaps posting a picture of one of the gods/goddesses would accomplish the same thing? I was stuck.

So instead of looking without, I began looking within, which is what I should have been doing all along. I thought about what was important to me, but I became frustrated when I envisioned myself with a high-paying job, and a nice house, and children in private school, and a luxury crossover vehicle. Am I really that materialistic that all that matters is that I have nice stuff?? but then I thought about what all those things really represented: success. That’s not such a bad thing to achieve, is it? I get the nice house and car because I’m successful at my chosen career, I’m successful at my chosen career because I find something that I love to do so that I’m motivated to do well, I do well because I attain all the necessary qualifications and experience I need, and I obtain those qualifications by going to school, and, once again, succeeding.

It doesn’t sound so materialistic when you think about the fact that the real basis of success is passion. I’m passionate about training and development, and maybe that sounds silly to you, but it’s true. I honestly enjoy training people (ie. adults, I tried the children’s education thing and thought I was going to go crazy, so not for me!) I love seeing areas of a workforce that need improvement, and finding those solutions, whatever they may be. That’s what I’m passionate about, and trust me, it took a while to figure it out, but now that I have, I have this wonderful sense of direction, which I need to thrive on.

My mother always told my brother and I: "it doesn't matter what you do with your life, but whatever it is that you pursue, make sure you're the absolute best you can possibly be. That is success.” and she was right. She’s always right, as I find more and more as I get older and wiser and am learning the exact lessons she attempted to teach me as a child/adolescent. It’s a mom thing, a conspiracy, I know it…

But back to the issue at hand, I then chose my mantra: “be successful”. I love it. It says it all. To the untrained eye, it says: “I am a shallow person and I only care about material things and winning.” but it means so much more than that. It means that if I decide to pursue the bass guitar more and join another band, I should succeed. If I decide to have a cleaning day to make the house completely spotless, I should succeed. Conversely, if I decide I need a relaxing “chill day” to reboot and start fresh tomorrow, I should succeed. It has nothing to do with being some corporate drone with no soul! It has to do with the fact that whatever I do, in my day or in my life, I should do it well. It’s not enough to half-ass your way through life, being wishy-washy is the quickest way to failure. If you’re going to do it, just do it! I feel so liberated, it’s really put everything in perspective for me, like everything I’m doing right now makes sense, and that no matter what choice I make, it will be the right one, as long as I do it well. I’ve never felt so serene and at peace. Namaste šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

